Minnesota Driving Laws
Here’s information about some Minnesota laws and how they can affect teen drivers.
Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) Violations
Traffic violations related to GDL restrictions can range from fines set by the court to delayed advancement to the next level of licensure or the repeat of a level.
Driving While Intoxicated in Minnesota
In Minnesota, drivers with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or more can be charged with a Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) violation. While the penalties are severe, they’re even more punitive for drivers under the age of 21, who can be charged with DWI with a BAC of .02 or more.
Under 21 DWI
- Mandatory 30-day driver's license suspension even for a first conviction of DWI. Suspension is extended to 180 days if driving with any passenger under age 16. A driver may be eligible for a restricted license after serving 30 days of the suspension.
- Payment of a fine of up to $1,000.
- Up to 90 days in jail.
- Payment of a reinstatement fee of $250 if your driver's license was suspended, revoked, or restricted.
- Payment of a reinstatement surcharge of $430, plus $24 for a new driver's license application.
Minnesota alcohol purchase, possession, or consumption law
A person under age 21 who is found guilty of a violation of state law or local ordinance relating to illegal consumption, possession, purchase or receipt of alcohol, regardless of whether a vehicle was involved, faces the following penalties:
- Suspension of driver's license for up to 90 days.
- Payment of a $100 fine.
- Community service and alcohol screening may be required.
Driver, Passenger and Child Passenger Safety Belt Laws
Here’s a summary of the passenger restraint laws in Minnesota:
- Safety belts are required for all vehicle occupants with the exception of those using a child restraint system.
- Children under age 8 and also less than 57" tall are required to be properly secured in a child restraint system. If taller than 57", they must wear a safety belt.
Failure to comply with these laws can result in fines set by the court and possible suspension of certain driving privileges.
Minnesota Speed Limit Laws
Unless otherwise posted, the speed limits on Minnesota roadways are as follows:
- Rural interstates: 70 mph
- Urban interstates: 65 mph
- Other limited-access roads: 65 mph
- Other roads: 55 mph
Violations of Minnesota speed limit laws can result in fines set by the court and possible suspension of driving privileges.