North Dakota Driving Laws
Here’s information about some North Dakota laws and how they can affect teen drivers.
Driving Under the Influence in North Dakota
- Payment of a fine of $250 or more.
- License suspension for up to 180 days for a first conviction for driving under the influence. A driver may be eligible for a restricted license after serving 30 days of the suspension.
- Mandatory alcohol evaluation and possible alcohol treatment program.
- If under age 18, driver must re-enroll and complete all required driver education requirements.
- A person under the age of 21 who is found guilty of a violation of state law or local ordinance relating to illegal consumption, possession, purchase or receipt of alcohol, faces penalties that can result in the suspension of his or her driving privileges, plus:
- Performance of community service.
- Participation in a substance abuse course.
- Alcohol violations involving operating a motor vehicle can result in license suspension.
Driver, Passenger and Child Passenger Safety Belt Laws
- Safety belts are required for all front-seat passengers.
- Children ages 7 until 18 are required to be properly secured in an approved child restraint system or safety belt.
- Children under age 7 and also under 57” and 80 pounds are required to be properly secured in a child restraint system.
- Failure to comply with North Dakota passenger restraint laws can result in a fine of $25 and 1 point on your driving record.
North Dakota Speed Limit Laws
- Rural Interstates: 75 mph
- Urban Interstates: 75 mph
- Other Limited Access Road: 70 mph
- Other Roads: 65 mph
Violations of North Dakota Speed Limit Laws can result in fines set by the court and assessment of the following points to your driving record:
|Speed Zones Less Than
|Speed Zones More Than
|1 Point||11-15 mph above limit||6-10 mph above limit|
|3 Points||16-20 mph above limit||11-15 mph above limit|
|5 Points||21-25 mph above limit||16-20 mph above limit|
|9 Points||26-35 mph above limit||21-25 mph above limit|
|12 Points||36-45 mph above limit||26-35 mph above limit|
|15 Points||More than 45 mph above limit||More than 35 mph above limit|