Licensing & State Laws
Even when your teen is licensed and driving alone, Connecticut’s multi-stage licensing process is still at work.
Full License – With First Six-Month Restrictions
Teens who obtain licenses must follow certain restrictions during the first six months of driving. They may not drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. (Some exceptions are granted.) They are also prohibited from driving with any passengers except for a licensed driving instructor; their parent/guardian who has a valid driver’s license; or a supervising driver who is at least 20 years old, has held a driver’s license for four or more consecutive years and whose license has not been suspended during the previous four years.
Full License – With Second Six-Month Restrictions
During the second six months, the only additional passengers allowed in the vehicle are members of the driver’s immediate family.
Other First-Year License Restrictions
In addition, teens who are 16 and 17 years old licensed drivers may NOT transport more passengers than the number of seatbelts in the vehicle; operate any vehicle that requires a public passenger transportation permit or a vanpool vehicle; use a cell phone, even if it’s hands free or a mobile electronic device while driving; or transport any passenger on a motorcycle for six months after the issuance of a motorcycle endorsement.
Teen drivers and all passengers are required to wear seat belts.
For information on learner’s permits in Connecticut, visit Supervised Driving.
A parent-teen driving agreement can help you enforce the licensing rules that the state and your family set. An agreement helps you and your teen understand the rules of the road and sends a clear message that driving is an earned privilege that your family takes seriously.
The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles is in charge of licensing for all drivers in Connecticut.
- Your teen should expect to present a valid driver’s license, vehicle registration and proof of insurance.
- Explain to your teen that it is important to always cooperate and be respectful when speaking with law enforcement.
- Make sure your teen understands the importance of talking to you about any encounters with law enforcement, because it can create a learning experience.
- Suspended driving privileges
- Attorney’s fees
- Court costs
- Insurance premium increases