Teen Driver Distraction
Worried about your teen texting and driving or riding with teens who aren’t focused on the road? Research shows you are right to be concerned. Young people are among the most avid users of cell phones, smart phones and texting devices. And, according to the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety more than half of teen drivers reported using a cell phone while driving and more than 1 in 4 reported typing or sending a text message while driving in the preceding 30 days.
State Driver Distraction Laws
Not only could using a wireless device while driving cause your teen driver to crash, it could also lead to a traffic ticket. In New Hampshire, all drivers are banned from text messaging while behind the wheel. Effective July 1, 2015, all drivers will be banned from handheld cell phone use and drivers under age 18 are banned from all wireless device use.
Key Tips for Parents
Parents play a critical role in preventing distracted driving. Follow these tips to help your teen develop safe driving habits.
- Set a good example every time you slide into the driver’s seat and don’t pass on poor habits. Keep your mobile devices stowed, reduce any other distractions and focus on driving.
- As you begin practice driving with your teen, do not allow a cell phone to be used by you or your teen, and make an effort to block out other distractions. Also, before your teen starts driving solo, adopt a Parent-Teen Driving Agreement that lays out strict rules related to distraction.
- Explain to your teen driver how to minimize various distractions, such as eating, drinking, chatting with a passenger, reading a map, personal grooming, reaching for things in the car or looking at people or objects unrelated to the driving task.
- When you are supervising your teen’s practice driving, stay off the phone and help your teen pay attention to the road. Don’t make electronic distractions an acceptable part of driving.
- Prohibit your teen from riding with teen drivers or transporting other teens during the learning-to-drive process. One of the most dangerous sources of distraction for teen drivers, whether due to horeseplay, loud music, rowdy behavior or peer pressure, is teen passengers. A AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety study found that carrying passengers, particularly other teens, greatly increases crash risk for drivers under age 18. New Hampshire driver licensing rules allow no more than one non-family teen passenger under 25 during the first 6 months of driving unless supervised by a licensed adult age 25 or older.