Licensing & State Laws
To get your driver’s license in Nevada, you’ll move through three licensing stages. As you progress, you’ll also need your parents’ permission at each step.
At age 15 1/2, you can apply for a learner’s permit in the state of Nevada. To do so, both you and your parent must visit the local DMV office, you must present proof of residency and identity, pass the vision and written tests, and have your parent/guardian sign the financial responsibility section on the application.
Beginning January 1, 2015, anyone under the age of 18 who applies for an instruction permit, driver’s license or driver authorization card must submit a Certification of Attendance (DMV 301) form to provide the DMV with proof that he or she meets the minimum Nevada school attendance requirements. If the student obtained a permit prior to January 1, 2015, the form must be submitted at the time of the driving skills test.
With a learner’s permit, you may only drive with a licensed driver 21 years or older, with at least one year of driving experience, supervising and sitting in the front seat. You are required to practice driving for at least 50 hours, including 10 hours at night, with a parent or a legal guardian. A log must be kept of the dates and times of each practice driving session on the Nevada DMV Beginning Driver Experience Log (Form DLD-130). A parent or guardian must sign this form and submit it when applying for a minor license. During the learner’s permit stage, you must complete a driver’s education course at any public/private high school or DMV approved professional drive school. The course consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction. Schools must be specifically approved for this by the DMV.
When you turn 16, have had a learner’s permit for at least six months, have no at-fault accidents, moving violation convictions, or any type of alcohol or drug conviction in the six months, you can apply for a minor license. You also must pass a behind-the-wheel driving test, submit your completed Beginning Driver Experience Log and have a parent or guardian sign the license application and other forms.
A teen with a minor license is allowed to drive alone, but must follow certain restrictions. You may not transport any passenger under the age of 18, except for immediate family members, for the first six months after the license is issued. Until age 18, you may not drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless traveling to or from a scheduled event such as school events or work. Law enforcement may ask for satisfactory evidence of the event. Teen drivers and all passengers are required to wear seat belts.
At age 18, you are eligible for a full unrestricted license if you have no outstanding DMV or court-ordered restrictions, suspensions, or revocations. At this time, the nighttime driving restriction no longer applies. However, AAA encourages parents to maintain their own rules.
Now is a good time to review the AAA parent-teen driving agreement. An agreement helps understand your family rules of the road.
- Conducts the written exam and road test for your learner’s permit and minor license.
- Provides study materials to help you get ready for the exams.
- Keeps track of your license status and can suspend your license if you get too many tickets, don’t keep insurance on your car or commit other violations.
Your parents will set rules as you learn to drive. But state and local police are involved, too, enforcing traffic laws and investigating crashes. By enforcing laws and requirements on seat belt use, distracted driving, drinking and driving, and teen license restrictions, police keep everyone on the road safer. Breaking laws can lead to fines, license suspension and other penalties.
- If pulled over by the police, present your driver’s license, vehicle registration and proof of insurance.
- If stopped as a driver or passenger, always cooperate and be respectful with law enforcement.
- If in any kind of situation involving law enforcement, talk to your parents about it immediately afterward.
- Use a parent-teen driving agreement.
- Keep your parents in the know about who you ride with.
- Let your parents know when and where you’re headed.
The consequences of a drinking and driving offense are particularly severe for drivers under age 21. Nevada has a .02 blood alcohol limit for drivers under 21. Drivers can also be arrested for any detectable amount of a controlled or prohibited substance. AAA encourages you to know the serious consequences of DUI offenses by knowing the law. This information is subject to periodic legislative updates. Drinking and driving can lead to:
- 1 year without a driver’s license (under 18).
- 3 months without a driver’s license (18 and older).
- Up to $2,000 in fines and fees.
- Jail sentence of at least 2 days and up to 6 months .
- Attorney fees starting at $500.
- Insurance could double or triple.
- 8 hours DUI driver’s school – $200.
- Lots of time at the DMV.
- If a death or injury occurs while driving impaired, 2 to 20 years in prison.
- StartSmart: Practice Driving – AAA’s tips for parents and teens about practice driving.
- StartSmart: Always Use Seat Belts – 63 percent of 16- to 20-year-olds who die in car crashes aren’t buckled up.
- StartSmart: Distractions and Driving – Read about the most common distractions, and get helpful advice for teens and parents.