Saving on Insurance Costs
When you’re ready to hit the road alone, you’ll need auto insurance coverage. Ohio requires all licensed drivers to get auto insurance, which will help pay for injuries and damage if you’re in a crash.
Saving Money on Car Insurance
Risk of a crash is significantly higher for teen drivers, particularly during the first year of driving. So, their auto insurance rates usually cost more. Here are a few ways you can help your family save some money.
- Keep your grades up. Most auto insurers offer lower auto insurance rates for students with a “B” or higher grade average.
- Investigate discounts. Many insurers also offer discounts for teen drivers who complete driver’s education or defensive driving courses.
- Drive carefully! Avoid crashes and tickets, which can cause a teen driver’s auto insurance rates to jump. Plus, it’s the safe thing to do.
- Don’t get your own car yet. If you won’t be the main driver for any of your family’s vehicles and can be classified as an occasional driver of one car, you could save your family hundreds of dollars.
- If you need a car, get a sensible one. Many experts agree that mid-sized sedans are the safest choice for teen drivers, and the cars often have the lowest auto insurance rates, too.
- Partner with your parents. Using a Parent-Teen Driving Agreement could help you avoid a crash or ticket that would increase your rates.
Car Insurance Requirements in Ohio
It is illegal to drive in the State of Ohio without auto insurance or proof of financial responsibility. The financial responsibility law in Ohio mandates the following coverage:
- $12,500 bodily injury or death of one person in one accident
- $25,000 bodily injury or death of two or more individuals in one accident
- $7,500 injury to the property of others in one accident
Learn more about insurance available through AAA.