Ohio requires all drivers to get auto insurance, which will help pay for medical costs and damage if you’re in a crash. As a new teen driver with a temporary permit, you won’t need your own auto insurance coverage until you start driving without supervision.
Planning ahead: How Can I Help Keep Teen Driver Auto Insurance Costs Down?
- Keep your grades up. Most insurers offer lower auto insurance rates for students with a “B” or higher grade average.
- Investigate discounts. Many insurers offer discounts for teen drivers who complete driver’s education or defensive driving courses.
- Don’t get your own car yet. If you won’t be the main driver for any of your family’s vehicles and can be classified as an occasional driver of one car, you could save your family hundreds of dollars in auto insurance.
- Practice, practice, practice. Now is the time to drive a lot with your parents under different conditions, so you’ll have fewer surprises (and potential crashes) when you’re driving solo.
- Partner with your parents. Research shows that teen drivers with more involved parents get fewer tickets and engage in less risky driving. Avoiding tickets and crashes will help keep your auto insurance rates down. Completing a parent-teen driving agreement with your parents can help.
Car Insurance Requirements in Ohio
It is illegal to drive in the State of Ohio without insurance or proof of financial responsibility. The financial responsibility law in Ohio mandates the following coverage:
- $12,500 bodily injury or death of one person in one accident
- $25,000 bodily injury or death of two or more individuals in one accident
- $7,500 injury to the property of others in one accident
Learn more about car insurance available through AAA.