Licensing & State Laws

Nevada uses a multi-stage licensing process for teens. This system allows teens to gradually gain exposure to complex driving situations, easing them into driving over an extended period of time.

Learner’s Permit

At age 15 1/2, teens can apply for a learner’s permit in the state of Nevada. To do so, both teen and parent must visit their local DMV office, present proof of residency and identity, pass the vision and written tests and have a parent/guardian sign the financial responsibility section on the application.

Beginning January 1, 2015, anyone under the age of 18 who applies for an instruction permit, driver’s license or driver authorization card must provide the DMV with proof that he or she meets the minimum Nevada school attendance requirements.

The applicant must submit a Certification of Attendance (DMV 301) form when applying for an instruction permit. If the student obtained a permit prior to January 1, 2015, the form must be submitted at the time of the driving skills test.

With a learner’s permit, teens may only drive with a licensed driver 21 years or older who has at least one year of driving experience, supervising and sitting in the front seat. Teens are required to practice driving for at least 50 hours, including 10 hours at night, with a parent or a legal guardian. A written log must be kept of the dates and times of each driving session on the Nevada DMV Beginning Driver Experience Log (Form DLD-130). A parent or guardian must sign this form and submit it when applying for a minor license.

During this stage, your teen must complete a driver’s education course at any public/private high school or DMV-approved professional driving school. The course consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction. Schools must be specifically approved for this by the DMV.

Minor License

When teens turn 16, have had a learner’s permit for at least six months and have had no at-fault crashes, moving violation convictions, or any type of alcohol or drug conviction in the six months, they can apply for a minor license. They also must pass a behind-the-wheel driving test, submit a completed Beginning Driver Experience Log and have a parent or guardian sign a license application and other forms.

A teen with a minor license is allowed to drive alone, but must follow certain restrictions. They may not transport any passenger under age 18, except for immediate family members, for the first six months after the license was issued. They may not drive between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless traveling to or from a scheduled event such as school events or work. Law enforcement may ask for satisfactory evidence of the event. This night limit remains in effect until they turn 18. Teen drivers and all passengers are required to wear seat belts.

Full License

At age 18, teens are eligible for a full unrestricted license if they have no outstanding DMV or court-ordered restrictions, suspensions, or revocations. However, AAA encourages parents to maintain their own rules.

Consider using a parent-teen driving agreement to help enforce licensing rules that the state and your family set. An agreement helps you and your teen understand the rules of the road and sends a clear message that driving is an earned privilege that your family takes seriously.

The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles is in charge of licensing for all drivers in Nevada. The Nevada DMV conducts the written exam and road test needed to get a driver’s license. It also provides study materials to help your teen get ready for the exams.

Remind your teen that police can and will enforce all requirements on seat belt use, drinking and driving, and other laws. Breaking the law can lead to fines, license suspension and other penalties.

  • If stopped by the police, teens should present a valid license, vehicle registration and proof of insurance.
  • Whether stopped as a driver or passenger, teens should always cooperate and be respectful with law enforcement.
  • If in any kind of situation involving law enforcement, teens should talk to their parents about it, because this can create a learning experience.

If your teen gets a ticket or is involved in a crash, it could lead to a court appearance. Judges deal seriously and directly with teen traffic violations. They can assess fines and suspend driving privileges for traffic offenses – even for a first offense, depending on the type of violation.

The consequences of a drinking and driving offense are particularly severe for drivers under age 21. AAA encourages you to know the serious consequences of DUI offenses by knowing the law. This information is subject to periodic legislative updates.

  • 1 year without a driver’s license (under 18)
  • 3 months without a driver’s license (18 and older)
  • Up to $2,000 in fines and fees
  • Jail sentence of 2 days and up to 6 months
  • Attorney fees starting at $500
  • Insurance costs could double or triple
  • 8 hours DUI driver’s school – $200
  • Lots of time at the DMV
  • If a death or injury occurs while driving impaired, 2 to 20 years in prison